Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Edmonton LRT closures planned for July

This July some LRT stations will be closed for maintenance and repair work.

Sunday July 7

Central Station will be closed from 4 p.m. on July 7 until 4 a.m. on July 8 for EPCOR electrical work. Capital/Metro Line trains will pass through but will not stop for passenger boarding or alighting during this period.

There will be no shuttle buses to replace the LRT during this closure. downtown access will be available through Churchill and Bay/Enterprise Square stations. 

July 13-14

Construction and repair work will affect Metro Line service as follows:

  • July 13-14: Track repairs south of Menzies Bridge will limit Metro Line trains to Government Centre station. Passengers needing University or Health/Sciences Jubilee stations must transfer to the Capital Line.
  • July 13: Concrete pouring at former NAIT station necessitates overhead power shutdown. NAIT/Blatchford Market station closes from start of service to 8 p.m. for track equipment use.
  • Service Schedule:
    • Beginning of service to 6 p.m.: Trains run Kingsway/Royal Alex to Government Centre; transfer for University or Health Sciences/Jubilee.
    • 6 to 8 p.m.: Trains run Kingsway/Royal Alex to Health Sciences Jubilee.
    • 8 p.m. to end of service: Regular Metro Line service resumes Health Sciences/Jubilee to NAIT/Blatchford Market stations.
  • Frequency: Trains operate every 15 minutes throughout the day.

LRT shuttle bus replacements will only be available on July 13 between Kingsway/Royal Alex and NAIT/Blatchford Market stations. Buses will run every 15 minutes.

On July 14, Metro Line trains will run between NAIT/Blatchford Market and Government Centre stations until 6 p.m. and the Metro Line will resume regular service from NAIT/Blachford to Health Sciences/Jubilee stations.

For more information:

Edmonton LRT.