Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Six candidates make final list for Alberta NDP leadership

Last week the Alberta NDP announced that final list of their leadership candidates.

The leadership race began back in early February after Rachel Notley announced that she would be stepping down as leader in January.

The final list was announced on Friday night, featuring four candidates from Edmonton, and two from Calgary.

These candidates include MLAs Jodi Calahoo Stonehouse, Sarah Hoffman, Kathleen Ganley, and Rakhi Pancholi. Also running is former Calgary mayor Naheed Nenshi, and president of the Alberta Federation of Labour, Gil McGowan.

There are already three debated scheduled for the candidates. The first of these debates will take place in Lethbridge next month.

Following this debate there will also be a Calgary debate in May, and an Edmonton debate in June.

Those interested in voting in the leadership election are being asked to join the Alberta NDP by April 22.

The Alberta NDP’s new leader will be formally announced on June 22.

Sarah Hoffman.